A Last Minute Elopement - Guest Review

“Rob, some moments in life will resonate for ever.  That was our stay at Lazalu.  Your place is so special and was so meaningful for both of us, even before we got engaged.  I’m confident the memory will remain strong forever – the sound of your lava driveway crunching as we walked to the shower in the morning, the breeze in the grass as we headed out to the cave, the stars through the back window of the wagon, barely able to sleep because we didn’t want to miss a moment of it.  So beautiful.  I hadn’t planned to propose on our trip but I was inspired.  We’d love to have our wedding there – might be a struggle to get our east coast family all out there.  But we will definitely be back as soon as we get a chance.  Thank you!”

Elisabetta and Gianni Pianta

“Best place ever, and we travel a lot… We stayed at this little corner of paradise me and my boyfriend a month ago. It was like Heaven… a single cottage in the middle of Zion Park. Everything has been picked and chosen with lot of love, dedication and passion…. is not your average Airb&b. You will not find anything like this anywhere else. It is an experience….not just lodging. Everything is perfect: the cottage, the kitchen, environment, location. Pricy? yes it is. Well…it’s worth every single penny believe me… it is priceless…The silence, peace and quite is surreal and it is one of our best memories of our trip in Utah. We thank the owner who was extremely caring and loving and we loved to hear his stories. I posted also a video on youtube and several pictures but it is nothing compared to see this place in person. The colors of the sunset are magical. The peace at sunrise, sheer beauty.It is really a spiritual experience, a retreat. We hope to go back soon but in the mean time we will always carry the best memories of this adorable place…. we miss it a lot already… See you soon, ciao from Italy!”


Jada

“Robert, Thank you again for sharing your piece of the world with us! We needed a wholesome break to rebalance and reconnect with what is important in our lives. Your vision that has now come to life provided us with exactly what we we needed! It reminded us how important this earth we live on is and how small we are in comparison. It truly grounded us, brought us back to a humble reality that our metropolitan city life lets us quickly forget! You were a wonderful host with the perfect balance of involvement in our stay! You were extremely kind and welcoming. The passion and love you have for what you’ve built warmed my heart! Thank you once again for sharing.”


Cathy

Robert was a wonderful host, providing input to enhance our stay, suggestions for enjoying Zion despite a fractured foot, all the while giving us space to enjoy our stay. The proximity to the park, and the helpful suggestions made our visit to Zion so easy. Be sure to take time to light a fire, sit outside and watch the stars.

  • From Bumpass, VA · June 2018

Cecilia

Our stay at Lazalu was an incredible experience! The jaw-dropping landscape, thoughtful amenities, inspired art & book selection, and the warmth of our host created a retreat better than we could have hoped for. The property is located on the West side of the park, which provides peace & solitude that can’t be matched in the more touristy area near the main park entrance. It was about a 35 minute drive into the main entrance of Zion – but Robert provides you with plenty of tips for more local hikes that are equally wondrous! The space is even more beautiful than it looks in photos, and the outdoor shower, fire pit, and communal kitchen were added perks for us. We loved coming home from a long day of hiking and cooking a meal, unwinding on the patio, watching the moon rise over the beautiful peaks of Zion. Robert was a fantastic host – respectful of privacy, but always available for tips and any questions you can think of. Lazalu strikes a perfect balance of convenience and solitude – we’d highly recommend it for anyone who wants to get the most out of their trip to Zion, and we hope to return soon!

  • From Philadelphia, PA · May 2018

Shashank

Clean, comfortable, stylish and an absolutely breathtaking property. Robert went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. Do not look any further!

  • From Chicago, IL · May 2018

Nolan

What an amazing spot! Of the many great things to say about Lazalu, it’s the location that really can’t be beat. It is so close to the park yet you feel totally in your own space with the beautiful fields and views of Zion all around. We stayed here during a hot spell in May and it was a wonderful getaway from the heat and crowds! Though it was a short drive from town, staying at Lazalu felt as though we had Zion to ourselves. We spent a few days exploring hikes from trailheads only a few miles away on Kolob Terrace road, and were able to be back to make dinner and enjoy the sunset from the patio area facing southwest towards the park. What a view! Even from inside the guesthouse (even from the bed) we were treated to a beautiful landscape of peaks near and far. The lodging itself was beautifully artistic, from the modern design of the structures to the decor and books and art that inhabit the space. It was very inspirational and peaceful. The guesthouse was perfect for a couple like us but would be suitable for a young family as well, with the separate bedroom that we barley even set foot in. Robert was a very gracious host. He was good company, with great recommendations of walks from the property or local guides, but also very respectful of our space and privacy. Highly recommend a stay a Lazalu, you won’t want to leave, we didn’t!

  • From Eliot, ME · May 2018

Kyle

It was a comfortable environment with all requisite amenities. The host was knowledgeable and courteous. The best features of this booking: Proximity to unadvertised, under utilized, and unpaid areas of the often crowded and always beautiful Zion n.p.. Private views; inspiring in day, awesome in night. Engaging details; reclaimed wood, unique doors, creative/clever architecture, carefully curated furniture and art, and chiefly each mentioned and unmentioned detail was well supported by tales of acquisition or construction. (Owner operated!) Outdoor shower. Such a treat to shower outdoors in the dessert, especially with this particular shower head. The worst features of this booking: There is no way to ensure a no fly zone. The portion of the property adjacent to guest parking shows the evidence of that which is required to build, support and maintain this off grid dessert dwelling. I have recommended Lazalu to both friends and family, and would advise any perspective “guests” to book here instead of some of the other listings in the vicinity where I was left with the impression that profit>pride.

  • From Salt Lake City, UT · May 2018

Nicole

I stayed at Robert’s beautiful place right outside of Zion NP for a couple nights with a friend and LOVED it. We stayed in the Adobe Suite which was clean, bright, full of pretty art and books and had its own hot shower. There was also an outside shower to use which we used to wash the desert off our feet. We lit the candles set in the adobe walls at night for a romantic mood. The stars were so bright! We swooned over them out the giant glass door from our bed. We enjoyed the well-stocked kitchen next door to make all but one of our meals. Had there been other guests next door we would’ve enjoyed sharing the space with them, but instead we had it to ourselves. We were supplied with great tips on hikes nearby, toiletries, wood for a stove inside the room and everything else we needed. We knew Robert was available if we needed anything else or if we had any questions. Keep in mind it’s in the wilderness which means there are bugs around, so just be sure to keep your windows and doors closed if that bothers you. You’re in the desert, you know? We slept with the windows open and didn’t have big issues. We took a few hikes from the property. First, to Cougar Fault then across the field and up the rocks to a fantastic panoramic view. We also took a quick drive to Wildcat Trailhead and hiked Northgate Peaks. That’s the same trailhead that the Subway hike and lots of others start from. If you wanted to go to the main entrance of the park it’s about 13 miles down the road so you’ll want a car. I would recommend this place to anybody. I’ll anticipate utilizing this space whenever I want a break from sleeping outdoors. It was all the joy and charm of being nestled in nature, but with every comfort I could’ve asked for.

  • From Salt Lake City, UT · May 2018

David Scott

Lazalu is so much more than a house to come back to sleep in after seeing the beauty of Zion National Park.  The houses themselves are so beautiful and well thought out. Well stocked communal kitchen. Lots of charming details in the great books of poetry and art scattered around. Great art and well designed pieces of furniture. There’s an abundance of windows and natural light. All of this looks out onto the stunning west side of Zion and Kolob Canyons.  Great sunsets and vistas and chairs right from the house.  The natural area is incredible and you can take some amazing walks right from the house. High vistas, desert blooms and caves.  It’s only a ( beautiful) 20 minute drive to a lot more hiking areas as well as to the main entrance of Zion and Springfield.  The host, Robert, is a warm and calm person who is both respectful of your space but completely on-hand for any help or ideas for the area.  Lazalu is super special – the houses are great, the area phenomenal and a there’s a great host. I would highly recommend it! I’m sure we’ll be back.

  • From Oslo, Norway · May 2018

Bryan

Lazalu was a truly unique, well done vacation experience by Robert, our host. I cannot describe how serene the property is and the little touches that make this place special. The meadows take on a brilliant glow as the sun sets and the view of the West Temple of Zion National Park is the perfect ending to a day in the park. The property has a rustic aesthetic and was extremely clean! It is apparent that an artist lives here. The longer we stayed the more we noticed the intricate details and just appreciated the time and effort spent bringing these buildings back to life. At night there is zero light pollution so star gazing while listening to the coyotes, owls, and other desert wildlife is magnificent! Robert could not have been a more gracious host and I cannot thank him enough. We are undecided if it was more fun speaking with him about his adventures and artwork or the Zion experience. It was easy access to hiking within the park and the perfect location to avoid the huge crowds and congestion that typically dwindle a getaway.

  • From Seattle, WA · April 2018

Lysa

Lazalu is a sparkling gem in the heart of Nature’s paradise… I wanted to feel far from the frenzy of the outside world (and even the crowds in the parks!) and this was way beyond my expectations… I really cannot say enough superlatives about Lazalu— the site, the stillness, the abodes, the views… The spacious lodgings are really an artist’s delight— tasteful, distinct, full of exquisite treasures and paintings, each with a wood stove. The common area has a full kitchen with everything you need. I stayed in Zion, waking on a bed of clouds to a magnificent panorama before me. I especially like the fact that Lazalu is off the grid, energized by the sun. Robert was a most helpful and gracious host and can show you short hikes from Lazalu (to caves and petroglyphs and breathtaking views…) and longer hikes (eg Subway, NW part of Zion) within a 10-15 minute drive. I cannot recommend Lazalu more highly. I will be back.

  • From Essex, MA · April 2018